2016 BRIDGES GraduatesBRIDGES logo

Since 1993, over 800 women have completed the twenty-four BRIDGES programs. Listed are the 36 recent graduates from the BRIDGES 2016 program and the institutions they represent. Interested applicants may contact any of the graduates for an inside perspective on the program.

Appalachian State University

Pamela Mitchem, Associate Professor/Coordinator of Digital Scholarship and Initiatives, University Library. Contact (828) 262-7422 or pricemtchemp@appstate.edu.

Sandra Vannoy, Associate Dean for Graduate Programs and Research, Walker College of Business. Contact (828) 262-2922 or vannoysa@appstate.edu.

Bennett College

Santiba Campbell, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology. Contact (336) 517-1590 or santibacampbellphd@gmail.com.

Duke University

Ericka Lewis, Equal Opportunity Compliance Investigator, Office for Institutional Equity. Contact (919) 684-4757 or ericka.lewis@duke.edu.

East Carolina University

Melissa Bard, Chief Human Resources Officer, Department of Human Resources. Contact (252) 328-9881 or bardme@ecu.edu.

Katherine Ford, Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies, Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures. Contact (252) 328-6523 or fordk@ecu.edu.

Gina Shoemaker, Assistant Director, Design & Construction, facilities Engineering and Architectural Services. Contact (252) 328-2001 or battenm@ecu.edu.

Elon University

Mina Garcia, Associate Professor, Department of World Languages & Cultures. Contact (336) 278-5810 or mgarciasoormally@elon.edu.

Susan Wise, Director of Disabilities Services, Academic Support Center. Contact (336) 278-6500 or swise2@elon.edu.

Elizabeth City State University

Farrah Ward, Chair, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science. Contact (252) 335-8549 or fjward@ecsu.edu.

North Carolina A & T State University

Shirlene Smith Augustine, Associate Professor, Department of Human Development & Services. Contact (336) 285-4397 or saugusti@ncat.edu.

Sheila Whitley, Associate Professor, Department of Journalism and Mass Communication. Contact (336) 285-3448 or whitley@ncat.edu.

North Carolina Central University

Kimberly Cogdell Grainger, Professor, School of Law. Contact (919) 530-6618 or kcogdell@nccu.edu.

North Carolina State University

Sarah Carrier, Associate Professor, Department of Teacher Education and Learning Sciences, College of Education. Contact (919) 513-2808 or Sarah_carrier@ncsu.edu.

Jessica DeCuir-Gunby, Associate Professor and University Faculty Scholar, Department of Teacher Education and Learning Sciences, College of Education. Contact (919) 513-7669 or jtdecuir@ncsu.edu.

Laura Sremaniak, Teaching Professor and Associate Chair, Department of Chemistry. Contact (919) 515-2937 or lssreman@ncsu.edu.

Brenda Stevens, Clinical Associate Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine. Contact (919) 513-6265 or brenda_stevens@ncsu.edu.

Beth Wright Fath, Assistant Professor, Department of Health and Exercise Studies. Contact (919) 345-7742 or beth_fath@ncsu.edu

Queens University of Charlotte

Alexa Royden, Associate Professor, College of Arts and Sciences. Contact (704) 654-6478 or roydena@queens.edu.

Saint Augustine’s University

Breona Hayes, Title IX Coordinator/Director of Training and Organizational Development. Office of Human Resources.  Contact (919) 516-4396 or bmhayes@st-aug.edu.

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Joy Bryde, Conflict of Interest Officer, University Conflict of Interest Program. Contact (919) 843-5328 or jbryde@unc.edu.

Ashalla Freeman, Director of Diversity Affairs, Office of Graduate Education. Contact (919) 843-9597 or ashalla@unc.edu.

Sheila Kannappan, Associate Professor and Associate Chair for Diversity, Department of Physics & Astronomy. Contact (919) 616-0234 or sheila@physics.unc.edu.

Karla Slocum, Associate Professor and Director, Department of Anthropology. Contact (919) 962-2438 or kslocum@unc.edu.

The University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Gretchen Alterowitz, Associate Professor, Department of Dance. Contact (704) 687-0221 or Gretchen.alterowitz@uncc.edu.

Robin Mara, Associate Director, Charlotte Teacher’s Institute, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Contact (704) 687-0047 or rmara@uncc.edu.

The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Mary Anderson, Associate Dean of Students, Dean of Students Office. Contact (336) 334-5514 or meander2@uncg.edu.

Murphie Chappell, Title IX Coordinator, Office of the Chancellor. Contact (336) 256-0362 or mechappe@uncg.edu.

The University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Mary Beth Locklear, Director, Office for Regional Initiatives. Contact (910) 775-4020 or mary.locklear@uncp.edu.

Beth Froeba, Director, Advising Center. Contact (910) 521-6850 or Elizabeth.froeba@uncp.edu.

The University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Karen Beres, Interim Vice Provost and Dean of Academic Affairs, Office of the Provost. Contact (336) 631-1546 or beresk@uncsa.edu.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington

Melinda Anderson, Director of the University College. Contact (910) 962-7902 or andersonmr@uncw.edu.

Beverley McGuire, Associate Professor of East Asian Religions, Department of Philosophy and Religion. Contact (910) 962-2879 or mcguireb@uncw.edu.

Eva Mehl, Associate Professor, Department of History. Contact (910) 962-3692 or mehle@uncw.edu.

Shannon Silva, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Film Studies Department. Contact (910) 962-2232 or silvas@uncw.edu.

Sara Thorndike, Associate Vice Chancellor for Finance and Controller. Contact (910) 962-3227 or thorndikes@uncw.edu.

Western Carolina University

Shawna Young, Director, Marketing and Assessment, Division of Student Affairs. Contact (828) 227-2591 or scyoung@wcu.edu.