BRIDGES Graduates

2021 BRIDGES Graduates

Since 1993, over 1,000 participants have completed 29 BRIDGES programs. Listed are the 35 recent graduates from the BRIDGES 2021 program and the institutions they represent. Interested applicants may contact any of the graduates for an inside perspective on their BRIDGES program experience.

APPALACHIAN STATE UNIVERSITY

Melissa Bryan, Senior Lecturer and Undergraduate Program Director, Nutritiion and Foods Program.  Contact (828) 262-6215 or bryanmm@appstate.edu.

Melissa Gutschall, Professor and Director, Graduate Programs in Nutrition, Nutrition and Healthcare Management.  Contact (828) 262-2698 or gutschallmd@appstate.edu.

Lakshmi Iyer, Acting Associate Dean for Graduate Programs and Research, Computer Information Systems.  Contact (828) 262-6823 or iyerls@appstate.edu.

Amy Milsom, Professor and Department Chair, Human Development and Psychological Counseling.  Contact (828) 262-3133 or milsomas@appstate.edu.

Trina Palmer, Professor, Mathematical Sciences.  Contact (828) 262-2912 or palmerk@appstate.edu.

EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY

Oyinlola ‘Toyin Babatunde, Associate Professor, Department of Nutrition Science.  Contact (252) 744-1004 or babatundeo@ecu.edu.

Heidi Bonner, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Criminal Justice.  Contact (252) 328-4382 or bonnerhe@ecu.edu.

Adriana Heimann-Rios, Associate Professor, Department of Geological Sciences.  Contact (252) 328-5206 or heimanna@ecu.edu.

Audra Thomas, Director for Student Center Operations, Department of Student Involvement and Leadership.  Contact (252) 744-1058 or thomasa@ecu.edu.

Jitka Virag, Associate Professor, Physiology, Brody School of Medicine.  Contact (252) 744-2777 or viragj@ecu.edu.

ELIZABETH CITY STATE UNIVERSITY

Kacey DiGiacinto, Professor of Kinesiology, Health and Human Studies Department.  Contact (252) 335-3403 or kldigiacinto@ecsu.edu.

NORTH CAROLINA A & T STATE UNIVERSITY

Nicole Dobbins, Associate Professor, Department of Educator Preparation.  Contact (336) 285-4413 or nwdobbin@ncat.edu.

NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY

Regina Schoenfeld-Tacher, Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Veterniary Medical Education Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges, Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biomedical Sciences.  Contact (919) 513-6096 or rmschoen@ncsu.edu.

THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL

Jacquie Halladay, Professor, family Medicine, School of Medicine; Co-Director, NC Network Consortium.  Contact (919) 843-6607 or Jacqueline_halladay@med.unc.edu.

Pei Feng Lim, Associate Professor, Department of Dentistry.  Contact (919) 537-3939 or peifeng_lim@unc.edu.

Diana Lys, Assistant Dean and Clinical Associate Professor, Educator Preparation and Accreditation, School of Education.  Contact (919) 445-8878 or lys@unc.edu.

Tauchiana Williams, Clinical Associate Professor, School of Social Work.  Contact (919) 843-7512 or tjvan@email.unc.edu.

Laura Yurco, Associate Chair, Business Administration, Department of Chemistry.  Contact (919) 962-2173 or laura_yurco@unc.edu.

THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHARLOTTE

Sonya Ramsey, Associate Professor, Department of History, Women’s and Gender Studies Program.  Contact (704) 687-5154 or sramse17@uncc.edu.

THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT GREENSBORO

Tylisha Baber, Interim Associate Director, Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program.  Contact (336) 686-7154 or tmbaber@uncg.edu.

DeAnne Brooks, Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology.  Contact (336) 256-0167 or dlbrooks@uncg.edu.

Maura Heyn, Professor and Department Head, Department of Classical Studies.  Contact (336) 256-0389 or mkheyn@uncg.edu.

Lisa McDonald, Director, Speech and Hearing Center, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders.  Contact (336) 334-5590 or lgmcdona@uncg.edu.

Tracy Nichols, Professor, Department of Public Health Education.  Contact (336) 334-5532 or trnicho2@uncg.edu.

THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT PEMBROKE

Ashley Allen, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences.  Contact (910) 775-4356 or ashley.allen@uncp.edu.

Polina Chemishanova, Associate Professor, Department of English, Theatre and Foreign Languages; Director of Composition and Director of Writing Intensive Program.  Contact (910) 775-4256 or polina.chemishanova@uncp.edu.

Kayonna Pitchford, Director, University-School Partnerships and Clinical Practice, School of Education.  Contact (910) 521-6779 or kayonna.pitchford@uncp.edu.

Parker Watson, Associate Director for Leadership Education, Campus Engagement and Leadership.  Contact (910) 521-6579 or parker.watson@uncp.edu.

THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT WILMINGTON

Kelsey Axe, Assistant Director, Curricular Engagement and Outreach, University College.  Contact (910) 962-3166 or axek@uncw.edu.

Amelia Moody, Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education, Department of Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle, Literacy and Special Education.  Contact (910) 962-2580 or moodya@uncw.edu.

THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA SCHOOL OF THE ARTS

Laurel Donley, Director, Student Support and Assistance and Interim Director of High School Life.  Contact (336) 631-1223 or donleyl@uncsa.edu.

WESTERN CAROLINA UNIVERSITY

Holli Stillman, Executive Assistant, Office of the Provost.  Contact (828) 227-3014 or hbstillman@wcu.edu.

INDEPENDENT COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES

Graduates from the 2021 program also included representation from the following independent colleges and universities. Prospective applicants may wish to contact these individuals for an inside perspective on BRIDGES:

DAVIDSON COLLEGE

Sundi Richard, Assistant Director, Digital Learning, E.H. Little Library.  Contact (704) 894-2955 or surichard@davidson.edu.

ELON UNIVERSITY

Madelyn Pastrana, Program Coordinator, President’s Office.  Contact (336) 278-5851 or mpastrana@elon.edu.

GARDNER-WEBB UNIVERSITY

Sydney Brown, Dean, Gayle Bolt Price School of Graduate Studies.  Contact (704) 406-3019 or skbrown@garder-webb.edu

“BRIDGES is powerful knowledge. BRIDGES is a lineage and a network. I learned far more than I anticipated about myself as a change agent within the system and about higher education. Best of all, BRIDGES introduced me to an incredible network of
strong-minded and strong-hearted women.  We were strangers, and now we are sisters.”
– Program Participant